Ivan and Mary Novick Award for Young Alumni Leadership

The Ivan and Mary Novick Award for Young Alumni Leadership recognizes the activities of our younger alumni.

Ivan and Mary Novick Award for Young Alumni Leadership

Pitt Alumni Association President Gary Brownlee, Bruce Mountjoy (CGS ’91), Tracy Floyd (NURS ’91), Darryl Floyd (A&S ’89, MED ’94G), John P. Gismondi (A&S ’75, LAW ’78), Ivan and Mary Novick Award for Young Alumni Leadership Winner Gordon Louderback (ENGR ’13), and Executive Director, Pitt Alumni Association Jeff Gleim.

Nomination Forms

PDFMicrosoft Word

Yara Elbeshbishi (UPB ’15, GSPH ’16)

On her way to earning two degrees from the University of Pittsburgh, Yara Elbeshbishi displayed her fine leadership qualities on two campuses and continues to do so today. From her childhood home in Egypt, Elbeshbishi moved to Maryland for high school and then found her way to the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford where she majored in chemistry and mathematics. Before graduating in 2015, she was twice elected Pitt-Bradford Student Government Association President, was a member of the community service fraternity Alpha Phi Omega, served as a freshman peer mentor, competed on the swim team,  and much more.

In 2015, Elbeshbisi came to the Pittsburgh campus to earn her master’s degree in health and policy management from the Pitt Graduate School of Public Health (GSPH) and once again proved herself to be a leader among her peers.

Immediately upon graduation, Elbeshbishi landed a position with UPMC Health Plan—first as a Policy Associate and currently as a Senior Project Analyst—but she never stopped serving as a leader in the University of Pittsburgh community. Elbeshbishi is the chair of the Board of Directors for the Pitt-Bradford Alumni Association Communications and Marketing Committee, was recently added to the Pitt Alumni Association School, College, and Regional Campus Committee representing Pitt-Bradford, is a member of the Graduate School of Public Health’s Alumni Relations Committee, and mentors current GSPH students.

Past Recipients

2017 | Gordon Louderback, ENGR ’13

2016 | Griffin C. Butt, CBA ’10

2015 | Nicholas J. Burdette ENGR ’04

2014 | D. Tyler Gourley, A&S ’05, GSPIA ’10

2013 | Jill M. Weimer, Esq., A&S ’04, LAW ’07

2012 | Tanya J. Fabian, PharmD, Ph.D., PHARM ’98, ’03

2011 | Karen Russell Cheung, A&S ’03 and James K. Cheung, A&S ’03

2010 | Iny R. Marks, PHARM ’00

2009 | Joan K. Snyder, CBA ‘01

2008 | Timothy J. Davis, A&S ’97, PHARM ‘00

2007 | Michelle D. Tallarico, A&S ‘01